Don’t Poach Clients

Tech with Ty

Tech with Ty.
🤖 [T]echnology: What I want to see for the iPhone 15
🎓 [E]ducation/Entertainment: Leveraging AI in Real Estate
💪 [C]oaching: Don’t Poach Clients
📹 [H]ow To: Be Authentic

[T]echnology:

I’m an iPhone junkie. 😰 

I know it’s a problem.

But I also use my phone for video, probably 17x more than most.

So when rumors start flying about the upcoming release of the iPhone 15, I’m hooked, and I can’t stop starring, oh…⬇️

Last year Apple upped its game with a 48MP sensor, which I don’t expect to increase this year, but megapixels are only half the story.

Apple is huge on computational photography and videography. This is why I prefer using it to my $2,000 full frame mirrorless Sony. I don’t have to worry as much about lighting changes or color grading. 🤗 The final product feels familiar because it’s what millions of others see when they watch back their own videos. 

In short, I expect improvements on the photo and video front, but mainly due to a faster processor and software upgrades.

However, I am VERY excited that iPhone is finally getting USB-C!

This may sound trivial, and I’m sure the Android readers are laughing at me right now, but this has been a long time coming. ⏰ 

USB-C is by all means THE standard, and with the iPhone fashionably late to the party, it opens up a world of new possibilities for accessories.

[E]ducation: Entertainment/Education

ICYMI, we had an awesome webinar on Wednesday…check out the replay here: ⬇️⬇️⬇️

[C]oaching:

I didn’t think I’d have to or want to write about this, but it’s come up thrice in the past two weeks.

Most recently, one of my agents told me that at a closing, the other agent brought gift bags with cookies and gave them to everyone at the table. In the gift bag was a card from the other agent thanking our clients for a smooth transaction, but it also said, “Please call me with any future questions or real estate needs.” - This is a bit too far. ❌❌

I had another agent show me the recipe tent card that was left at a showing with all of the agent's contact info, and I could be mistaken, but I know I’ve seen it in the past where the agent also offered a discounted listing commission. 🙄🙄

The intent with these tactics isn’t because you’re a super nice person. It’s to earn future business from someone else’s client.

It’s gross. 🤮🤮

Look, I know there are agents sending out mailers post-closing to both sides.

We know that only 12% of homeowners use their agent again.

Why? ⬇️⬇️

87% of real estate agents fail within the first five years, so they’re no longer in the business when that homeowner goes to buy or sell again, and agents are notoriously bad at staying in touch with clients. So I don’t love the tactic, but chances are the other agent isn’t doing it or in business, so the other side might as well see a friendly face…so long as it was a smooth transaction, lol.

Long story short, there are plenty of ways to get business, don’t do shady crap to get it. 🙅‍♂️

[H]ow To:

In a world filled with social media, finding genuine, real, authentic content is RARE. 💎

When people do find it, the feedback typically speaks for itself.

People LOVE authenticity. They want to surround themselves with content that will make them FEEL good. You don’t like door to door salespeople, right? So STOP making content that gives off the same vibe. Potential clients WILL reject you. 🙅‍♂️

So what does this mean, exactly? ⬇️⬇️

This means posting content that is genuine, transparent, and not manipulative.  

You just had an unthinkable scenario happen? Film a storytime video. Mortgage rates are crazy high? Address it, and talk about why it would still be a good time to sell/buy. 💬 Don’t ignore the fact that because rates are high it will turn clients away. This is a huge concern of theirs so TALK ABOUT IT.

By being authentic, you will gain the loyalty and trust of old and new clients. Think about how you would perceive certain content. 🤔 What would be helpful to you as a first-time home buyer? What would you want to be reassured of?

A big factor of marketing is treating someone how you would want to be treated. As a potential client, what would really spark 🧨 your interest, needs, and wants? Start there and see where it takes you.
- Ty Morton