Tech with Ty

Dreams Should Scare You

🤖 [T]echnology: So Close…
🎓 [E]ducation/Entertainment: Bad Actors
💪[C]oaching: Dreams Should Scare You
📹 [H]ow To: Live Stream

[T]echnology:

I recently saw a video on Matt Wolfe’s channel that made me want to give AI video another shot (I’ve laid off for awhile).

RunwayML just released Gen 3 Alpha, and I have to say, it’s definitely the best I’ve tried, although I’m still anxious to try SORA, which is not publicly available yet.

With that said, it’s close…and I think I can actually integrate some of these clips into my video content with some editing.

Check them out and let me know what you think…⬇️⬇️

The ninja lady at the end is still a mystery to me…😵‍💫

I wasn't really expecting the man to have a full exorcist rotation but alright.

The houses certainly don’t look real, and what happened to the cars?

The thing is, if I’m using this for 1-2 second, maybe even 3-4 second clips, it’s actually pretty perfect in many applications, but… 

Verdict: I think it still needs another 6 months until it’s ready for the masses.

[E]ducation:

Our industry is ripe for the picking. 🍎

With misinformation, bad actors, and straight-up scammers, agents (especially the desperate ones) are inundated with offers that promise a deal a week or the ultimate conversion scripts/presentations.

Ladies and Gentlemen, this stuff is FREE. EVERYWHERE.

Go to YouTube and watch five videos per week. I promise you’ll learn how to use Canva, how to deal with buyer objections, how to create the perfect listing presentation, and more. 

Don’t pay $500+ for someone else’s presentations.

Ask your broker/marketing department.

If you’re not getting this stuff from them, it’s time to explore changes.

You can buy all the packages you want, but you still need accountability. 

Sorry for the rant. I legitimately saw a company offering a single presentation for $500+, and it dawned on me how susceptible we are to those who prey on our industry with fear-based tactics. 

[C]oaching:

The thing I love about “memories” is bringing up randing pictures that I took years ago but completely forgot about.

I took this one at the RE/MAX Broker/Owner Conference a few years back, and it’s an incredible reminder that we should dream bigger.

Too often we get stuck in the rut of “If I just have another closing” or “My goal is to make X.”


What if you doubled it?

What if you said something crazy, like “I want to be the #1 agent in _________.”

Do you think, quite possibly, that the #1 agent in your market may have once said that? 🤷

So why aren’t you?

Think Bigger.

[H]ow To: With Abby

Live streaming is probably one of the scariest types of video out there, which is probably why it performs so well. It is authentic, real, and easy to do (once you’re done filming, that is).

We are seeing so many updates on live streaming recently, which confirms to me that these social platforms WANT us to do it. Some of the updates include: ⬇️⬇️

We have two agents in our office who live stream almost every single video. (Shout out to Jessica and Stephanie!) Honestly, their videos are hilarious and fun because of it. Typically, they try themed cocktails based on the upcoming holidays and even have a live audience stop by for drink tastings. :) I have had the privilege of being one. 🍹🙂

What are some things you should know before going live? 

  1. Don’t have background music playing unless it is non-copyrighted. Whatever social platform you are streaming from will immediately remove and delete your live stream as soon as they hear anything copyrighted. 🎶

     

  2. Keep a simple setup with good lighting. Sit in front of a window for natural light. 🪟

     

  3. Be mindful of audio. Audio can be tricky when going live. Mics can break or not work, and you could be in a public space or a large room that echoes. Try not to be far away from your phone, as the chances of audio being muffled increase. 📱

     

  4. Make sure your Wi-Fi is good. Nothing is worse than a lagging live stream. I would even opt not to be on Wi-Fi and just use cellular data if you can. 🛜

     

  5. Engage with your viewers in real time. The point of a live stream is to be accessible and personable. Read through comments as people are commenting and react live. This is also why I recommend being closer to your phone so you can read comments. 👁️‍🗨️

     

  6. Market your live stream ahead of time. Going live spontaneously can be fun, but you probably won’t get many viewers. Create a graphic letting people know exactly when to tune in and what the topic will be. 🗣️

     

  7. Don’t be perfect or scripted. Another point of going live is to show your imperfections, which is why it is so terrifying. Be fun and light-hearted, and if something goes wrong, go with it. ✌️ 

Going live can be truly terrifying but is one of the easiest ways to get content out there. Like with anything, practice makes perfect. So go fumble through your first live stream and try again.

-Ty Morton