Tech with Ty

Engage with Other Posts

šŸ¤–[T]echnology: More Notes
šŸŽ“ [E]ducation/Entertainment: More Opportunity
šŸ’Ŗ[C]oaching: More Than One Lesson
šŸ“¹ [H]ow To: Engage with Other Posts

[T]echnology:

Since I posted the AI Notes I took with my phone last week, more than a few people have asked why they canā€™t do the same.

As I mentioned, Iā€™m beta-testing iOS18, which should be available in the next few months. 

In the meantime, donā€™t miss out on taking notes at your next meeting! āœļø

Check out Otter.ai šŸ¦¦ 

I know Iā€™ve mentioned it before, but Otter does a great job of taking notes on your Zoom meetings. It also gives you a transcription from recordings on your phone, a summary, outline, and action items.

If youā€™re not ready to jump into iOS18 Beta, Otter is a solid choice for 300 minutes of monthly recording on the FREE plan!

[E]ducation:

One speaker I didnā€™t talk enough about last week was Brian Buffini.

The man is an absolute legend. šŸ™Œ

Iā€™m not sure I agree 100% with his predictions, but if heā€™s anywhere close, we will have a hell of a 4th Quarter.

First, Brian said that 5.8% is the rate buyers need to get off the fence. This has been proven by home builders offering incentives/buy downs.

Second, weā€™re sitting on a Silver Tsunami of more than 70 million 65+ homeowners who simply arenā€™t selling because rates are high and they have nowhere to go. Iā€™ve talked about the likelihood of a Silver Tsunami bringing home prices down with a tidal wave of supply, but I donā€™t think it will happen all at once. šŸŒŠ

Pair that with 45M prospective buyers between the ages of 26 and 35, and if rates do go down, and all indications are that they will, youā€™ve got the perfect storm for an insane fourth quarter.

Hereā€™s how a typical selling season breaks down:

Hereā€™s what Brian is predicting for this year:

Keep in mind that last year was the worst year in terms of the number of homes sold in the US since 1993, and we have 80 million more people now than we did thenā€¦

Iā€™m not saying the perfect storm will happen, but itā€™s brewing, so be prepared. šŸ‘

It is a welcome change in a year filled with uncertainty.

If you want to read my aforementioned AI notes from Buffini, you can do so HERE.

[C]oaching:

Just a Handshake šŸ¤

We went out in the Gas Lamp District in San Diego last week. If you havenā€™t been, itā€™s impressive.

Iā€™ll never forget my first time there. It was the first time a bartender came to ask me what Iā€™d like to drink, but he first extended his hand and introduced himself. Thatā€™s stuck with me for years because of the impression made on something as simple as a handshake.šŸ¤  

Remember this the next time you have an opportunity to make a first impression.

Jump at Opportunity šŸ¦˜

So, amid bar hopping, we stopped by one of my favoritesā€¦a piano bar. Not only do I love music, but they also happened to have a drum set ;)

If you didnā€™t know, I also play drums. šŸ„ So when the opportunity came to ask one of the piano players if I could join them, I jumped at the chance. This is always an awkward conversationā€¦Iā€™m sure they get tons of requests from highly inebriated patrons who claim to be able to play or sing.

But you miss 100% of the shots you donā€™t takeā€¦next thing you know, Iā€™m on stage playing Brick House and even got called back for one more song to close out the night.

A Promise šŸ¤™

We are in an industry where it makes sense to underpromise and overdeliver, so when my friend Emily made me promise that Iā€™d post the video above in Tech with Ty, a big ask, I had to get creative with this section. I believe theyā€™re all relevant to coaching, but remember, when you say to a client you will do somethingā€¦do it. 

A promise is a promise.

[H]ow To: With Abby

Another Real Estate Mastermind post, and respectfully, I disagree with this. āŒ
Letā€™s break it down: ā¤µļø


ā€œLetā€™s normalize not liking or otherwise interacting with other agents' real estate-related posts on social media.ā€ ā€¦Why?


ā€œEvery time we like each otherā€™s posts, we are training our algorithms to serve us more posts from other agents.ā€ ...So what?


I see what this person is trying to say. If only real estate agents interact with my posts, my posts will only ever go out to other real estate agents.

But this isnā€™t technically true.

First, interacting with your peers' posts is the BEST way to get them to interact with yours. And thatā€™s GREAT for you. Why? When you have good engagement on a post, Facebook thinks, ā€œWow, this must be a really great piece of content,ā€ and Facebook boosts it with even more people to keep them on their app longer. ā±ļø


Might you get more real estate content pushed to you personally if you keep engaging with posts like this? Yeah, probably, but who cares? I think that's actually a good thingā€”it allows you to see what your peers are posting and get ideas for yourself. šŸ’”

Will your content only be pushed to these same people? That depends. What hashtags are you using? What words are in your caption? All of these details help put your content front and center.

My advice: Like and comment on all your peers' content. Theyā€™ll appreciate the support and start commenting on your posts, boosting your reach because of the increased engagement. Itā€™s a win-win.

-Ty Morton + Abby G