Tech with Ty

The Slow Death of NAR?

šŸ¤–[T]echnology: Teleprompt This
šŸŽ“ [E]ducation/Entertainment: The Slow Death of NAR?
šŸ’Ŗ[C]oaching: Do One Thing
šŸ“¹ [H]ow To: Get People to Trust You

[T]echnology:

Letā€™s talk about video again šŸ˜‚

Some agents are good in front of the camera with no script or prompts.

Some agents need a script. šŸ“

I bought the NEEWER X10 over a year ago, and it stayed in my office unused until recently.

In my effort to promote our agents doing videos, I offered this up as an option, and it works flawlessly.

Diane doesnā€™t do a ton of video, but nailed her script here: 

I love that it has a built-in phone mount to utilize the rear-facing camera. Every other teleprompter I previously owned was specific to DSLR or Mirrorless cameras. šŸ“·

With that said, youā€™ll need a spare phone or tablet to mirror the script. Otherwise, youā€™ll want to download an app like Prompt Smart Pro. - I use this app anyway (in part because I had already purchased it) because it moves the script to your reading pace. 

If itā€™s in your budget to buy another gadget, go for it. If not, your front-facing camera and Prompt Smart Pro will work just fine. As Iā€™ve saidā€¦my crappy video will outperform the one youā€™re not doing every day of the week.

I love that it has a built-in phone mount to utilize the rear-facing camera. Every other teleprompter I previously owned was specific to DSLR or Mirrorless cameras.

With that said, youā€™ll need a spare phone or tablet to mirror the script. Otherwise, youā€™ll want to download an app like Prompt Smart Pro. - I use this app anyway (in part because I had already purchased it) because it moves the script to your reading pace. 

If itā€™s in your budget šŸ’° to buy another gadget, go for it. If not, your front-facing camera and Prompt Smart Pro will work just fine. As Iā€™ve saidā€¦my crappy video will outperform the one youā€™re not doing every day of the week.

[E]ducation:

If you havenā€™t heard, the NAR is facing yet another lawsuit.

Meanwhile, Colorado state law is taking precedence over the NAR settlement.

This leads me to the question, is the NAR dying a slow death?

 ā˜ ļø

If you havenā€™t watched Jared James latest video, check it out here:

Jared makes some good points in this video, but I think a more significant issue is at stakeā€¦

For years, the barrier to entry into the real estate industry has been too low. But itā€™s not just the barrier to entry, itā€™s the training after. 87% of agents leave the business within the first five years. šŸ˜® In todayā€™s age of technology at your fingertips, this is abysmal, to say the least. 

With around 2 million agents in the US, seeing Jaredā€™s video have less than 5k views makes me sad. Tom Ferry is the most popular real estate channel Iā€™ve found on YouTube; even his latest video only hit 38k views. 

I know I wonā€™t change the industry, but I hope emails like this help increase your knowledge and real estate literacy. Thatā€™s my entire reason for doing Tech with Ty. šŸ§  I know Iā€™m a bit obsessive about ā€œnever stopping learning,ā€ but we need more agents to take it upon themselves to increase their training and knowledge. If nothing else, I hope Iā€™ve opened your eyes to additional resources. 

Itā€™s up to you to digest šŸ„˜ and implement them! 

[C]oaching:

Continuing the theme from aboveā€¦

I want to issue a challenge to every agent reading this this week.

Watch one new training. šŸ§ 

Implement one new marketing idea.0

Record and publish a real estate video (can be part of the marketing idea).

Reach out to three people in your sphere. 

Thatā€™s it. šŸ¤·

Donā€™t overcomplicate it.

Ok, one last stepā€¦reply to this email and tell me what you did!

[H]ow To: With Abby

Iā€™ve been working in real estate marketing for over three years now and the comments on this post confirmed everything I was going to say. 

I truly feel like the best form of marketing is when you donā€™t realize youā€™re being sold to. 

What I mean by this is less of thisā€¦ā¬‡ļø

And more of thisā€¦ā¬‡ļø

Relatable, funny, and the massive sign in the background with their name? Win, win, win. Even stalking Nimeshā€™s videos further (sorry Nimesh, Iā€™m using you for examples), his funny videos with actual people will perform twice as well as the home tours. 

People like seeing people. People like seeing people having fun. People love seeing people they can relate to. ā¤ļø

Why would relatable content help your business? Trust. šŸ¤

If you post relatable content, people will start to feel like they have a friendship with you. With that friendship, they will feel like they can trust you. Trust is critical in this business. Odds are if people already have a foundation of trust with you (even through social media), they are way more likely to reach out.  

Now, this isnā€™t to say that the first post isnā€™t acceptable. Those filler posts still do the job of name recognition and are a far better choice than posting nothing. 

I know posting relatable content can be challenging. You would think it would be easy since it is just you being you, but it isnā€™t. For you, this is your everyday life. But you would be surprised at how little people realize realtors deal with. šŸ˜Ÿ

It sounds psychotic, but pretend social media is a friend you are trying to update. You wouldnā€™t update them on your every move, but you had better believe you would tell them a good story.

-Ty Morton + Abby G