Tech with Ty

Utilize IOS 18 for your Business

🤖 [T]echnology: Apple…yes
🎓 [E]ducation/Entertainment: Tom Petty and the VA
💪[C]oaching: Recycle
📹 [H]ow To: Utilize IOS 18 for your Business

[T]echnology:

Ah, one of my favorite times of the year… 🎁📱

I’ll first admit that I’m excited about a few features that Android users have enjoyed for a few years, namely scheduling a text message and the magic eraser for photos. ✏️

They also announced that Siri would be powered by ChatGPT, which is super cool.
But…

I’m even more excited that Apple has created an on-device semantic index of all of your stuff. ⬇️

This is nerd talk for all of your apps to talk to each other and Apple Intelligence (clever branding) will be able to pull data from every one of your apps to use it intuitively. 

This was my favorite example:

Imagine you’re running late for an appointment and need to ask Siri where your next appointment is, and it pulls the details from your calendar and opens maps. 🗺️ Because you’re already flustered and running late, you cannot remember the name of the client you’ve never met. Just ask it to text your client and let them know you’re running 5 minutes behind. It’s able to make the connection that John Smith is your client that you’re showing 123 Main Street and send them that text. 🤯

Better yet, imagine you receive a PDF attachment in an email, and all you have to do is say, “Add this to the 123 Main Street loop in Dotloop.” I can only imagine this will improve with App Intents, and you’ll be able to add, “And send for signatures” and it will automatically add the signature lines and send to your client. - One can hope! 🤞 

In typical Apple fashion, they’ve made an otherwise nerdy topic sexy and sleek and easy enough for Granny to use. 👵

We are witnessing the birth of AI going mainstream..

[E]ducation:

Right now, MLS Pin is singing Tom Petty’s “I Won’t Back Down,” and they are making a hell of an argument. ⬇️

As always, Rob Hahn had a fantastic perspective on this: “Beyond countering the DOJ’s objection to the settlement, the brief mounts a very strong defense of the underlying issue — that there is no antitrust violation, that the MLS is a mere conduit, and that the offer of compensation is legal and is constitutionally protected speech. Those are what other MLSs will takeaway from this brief, I believe.”

He also raises the interesting possibility of this inviting regulation by the FTC, which, as he mentions, doesn’t like us much.

It will be interesting to see how this plays out…⬇️⬇️

While still only temporary, the VA said it’s working on a permanent policy.

This eliminates the uncertainty of working with VA buyers and puts them on a level playing field with other buyers, but as I mentioned in a previous Tech with Ty, it will require you to change your pitch slightly to explain why sellers should co-op. 💬

[C]oaching:

Finding fresh content is hard. ✨😭

The good news is that it’s also abundant.

You’re just overthinking it.
I recently started heading my own advice and taking popular content from groups like the dumpster fire that is Real Estate Mastermind and repurposing it with my own spin/advice. 😏

Check it out here:

Now, do the same.

Take any hyperlocal content that you see. Take a screenshot. Hop on an app that does green screen and talk about it.

This isn’t rocket science. 🚀

Start making some freaking content!

[H]ow To: With Abby

I don’t think I have been this excited for an iOS update since it was announced that I could customize my lock screen. 🧑‍🎨 Tyler mentioned a few of the upcoming AI additions, but I want to highlight some other updates that can help your business.

What I am looking forward to the most is the messaging scheduler. 🗓️

I can’t tell you how many times I have set alarms on my phone to wish people happy birthdays. I know I’ll remember on Facebook, but sending a text is much more personal. We tested Tyler’s beta version, and as far as we can see, you can schedule these messages as far out as you want. 👍 That means you can set up happy home anniversary texts for all of your clients. While some people like to share closing day photos on Facebook as they pop up in memories, I think texting is better. It starts a conversation and, as I said before, is much more personal. 🤗 

Also, I know realtors work all hours of the day, but others do not. If you think of something you want to ask or say to your client at midnight, instead of either forgetting or being that person who texts when everyone else is asleep, you can schedule it. 👍 You have no excuse for send 6 am or midnight texts now.

Out of all the announcements, this is by far the feature I will use the most. 

Apple also announced its use of satellites, which our avid travelers will love. ❤️ If you are taking a trip and are worried about cellular service, don’t worry. Messages via satellite will automatically prompt users to connect to the nearest satellite right from the Messages app when they are out of cellular range. This will allow iPhone users to send and receive texts, emojis, and tapbacks over iMessage and SMS. Messages sent via satellite will have the same end-to-end encryption as typical iMessages. 

I do have some bad news 😥: the Apple Intelligence will only work for iPhone 15 and newer models. I guess Apple's strategy has worked because I’ll be getting a new phone. 🤷🏼‍♀️ TAKE ALL MY MONEY APPLE.

-Ty Morton