Why Did RE/MAX Settle?

Tech with Ty

Tech with Ty.

 

šŸ¤– [T]echnology: Rayban | Meta
šŸŽ“ [E]ducation/Entertainment: Why Did RE/MAX Settle?
šŸ’Ŗ[C]oaching: The Lazy CMA
šŸ“¹ [H]ow To: Do Social Media Right

[T]echnology:
When Rayban | Meta Smart Glasses were first announced, I was happier than a kid on Christmas. šŸŽ„

Now that theyā€™re hereā€¦Iā€™m even more excited/impressed.

The camera is actually fantastic. I saw many examples from the previous iteration, and because the iPhone is the gold standard, they just didnā€™t live up to expectations.

Meta Glasses offer a unique perspectiveā€¦viewers can see and hear exactly what you hear and see. The ability to snap a photo or video at a momentā€™s notice is life-changing. šŸ‘ 

There are so many times when I either donā€™t feel comfortable breaking out my phone, or the waiter says you canā€™t film in here (lol), or I miss the opportunity to capture engaging content or B-roll footageā€¦not anymore. šŸŽ‰šŸŽ‰šŸŽ‰

The opportunities are endless. Highlight local businesses, parks, restaurants, new listings, neighborhoods, etc.

It may be a bold statement, but these are my favorite purchase in the past 12 months. šŸ’°

Now I just need some transition lenses so I donā€™t look like Corey Hart

[E]ducation: 

Things are heating up the Sitzer/Burnett trial. The jury has been selected, and the trial is underway. šŸ§‘ā€āš–ļø

If you havenā€™t been following Tech with Ty. Please go back and read some of the articles I have written.

Most recently, the training provided by brokers has been under the microscope and heavy scrutiny. I certainly have my opinions on this, but I also donā€™t feel like getting deposed in the near future, so Iā€™ll just leave a link for you to read a bit more about it here.ā¬…ļøā¬…ļø

A lot of agents were pissed with companies like Anywhere (C21, Coldwell, etc), and RE/MAX settled because they (and I) truly believe we havenā€™t done anything wrong. So I get asked quite a bit, ā€œWhy did RE/MAX settle?ā€ 

I certainly canā€™t speak for LLC or Anywhere, but I fully understand why they did it. The time and money spent on litigating a multi-million dollar lawsuit is exhausting. šŸ„±

Not to mention this excerpt from the email I received:

ā€œIt's important to note that the nationwide settlement, which requires court approval, would release RE/MAX, LLC, the U.S. independent regions, and U.S. RE/MAX brokerages and affiliates ā€“ā€Æall of you ā€“ from any claims related to these lawsuits.ā€ÆIt would also settle, on a nationwide basis, any similar claims that could be brought. ā€œ - This is why.

Once again, our industry is going to change.

As you may know, The Department of Justice is considering its own case against NAR after years of investigating the trade group for alleged antitrust behavior, Bloomberg reported.

Be. Prepared. šŸ«”

[C]oaching:
Last week, I raved about Andrew Bayonā€™s 30-90 Day Client Campaign.

For many, it was a lot to take in. I equate it to the 75 Hard Challenge I see friends on Facebook doing it, but not everyone is ready to give up sugar, so letā€™s break it down into one simple step to get you startedā€¦

Tha Lazy CMA.

Credit to Jimmy Mackin on this one, and thanks to Andrew for introducing me to itā€¦ šŸ‘šŸ»šŸ‘šŸ»

Send this text to your past clients and sphere: 

[Insert prospects name],

I was on Zillow earlier today looking for a few properties in your neighborhood and I thought Iā€™d check your Zestimate.

They estimate your homeā€™s value is (insert amount)

Note: include a screenshot of the Zillow Zestimate as validation

I have my opinion, but Iā€™d love to hear your thoughts. What do you think?

I showed this in our last office training, and Abby posted a snippet with this idea on IG, racking up 11.2k views in less than 24 hours (rememberā€¦document what you do for easy video content!)

Now, stop procrastinating. There are less than 75 days left in 2023!

[H]ow To (with Abby):

We know social media is constantly changing. How do you know you are doing it right if there is this constant change? šŸ˜Ø 

I feel one of the hardest industries to market in is service. As realtors, it can become extremely easy to just focus on selling yourself on social media. šŸ™Œ I can tell you right now, that no one wants to follow your account if all you post is advertisements about yourself and what makes you the best. I have a lot of better things to look at online. šŸ¤·ā€ā™€ļø

Give your clients a REASON to follow your account.

We are all very self driven. What am I going to get out of engaging with your content? This dives back into what we always preach. GIVE VALUE. šŸ“š

Someone that I feel is killingggg it on social media is Morgan Turner. She understands the value in video, authenticity, relevance and educational content. Let's break down her recent videosā€¦ā¬‡ļø

  1. Celebrating Friday the 13th in Dayton

  2. Five Pumpkin Patches in Dayton

  3. Welcome to Fairborn, OH

  4. Silent Disco | Yellow Cab Tavern | Dayton

  5. Peak Fall Foliage

What do all of these videos have in common? They are relevant, engaging and provide value. None of these videos have anything to do with real estate but still they attract clients. By doing these videos Morgan isā€¦

  • Showing she knows the area well

  • Building a relationship by showing her face

  • Creating brand recognition

If you are interested we actually interviewed Morgan a few months ago.

She is young, and as a fellow young person in the industry, I feel her pain. Sometimes you can learn a thing or two from our youth though. 

I show people twice my age how to export documents as a PDF on a regular basis. šŸ¤·ā€ā™€ļøšŸ¤·ā€ā™€ļø

 -Ty Morton